Wednesday, 4 November 2009

"[Perfection] would be inhuman. The umbilical point, the humanity, the thing that makes you human and not supernatural and immortal--that's what's lovable. That is why some people have a very hard time loving God, because there's no imperfection there. You can be in awe, but that would not be real love. It's Christ on the cross that becomes lovable".

-Joseph Campbell

After a long-ass day of recording and mixing, Liam and i have finished a set of five demos. You can listen to them on our myspace ( They are a little shakey, and very lo-fi, and they were recorded over a long period by me and the guys. In a previous post, i made a big declaration about releasing the tracks upon completion in the form of a self-released EP. It was probably a little premature of me, given that i only had a vague idea of how things would turn out. Although i love the sound of these tracks and the contributions made by the band and good friends, i think that holding back on a physical release until i have something more concrete and complete (something that feels like a record and not a really good set of demos) would be the wisest move.

In any case, they are available to stream for free and i hope you enjoy them. I'm proud of the songs as a representation of where we are at- still trying to figure out the best way to ornament these songs, but with a pretty strong sense of direction. They're imperfect, but circumstance has made them as honest and as raw as anything i'll do, and i'll probably keep coming back to them more than anything else for that reason.

The people who were involved in making the tracks are:

Liam Markham: Engineering, mixing, mandola.
Gabriel Minnikin: Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin, Banjo, Harmonica.
Ben Price: Bass.
Peter Gray: Drums.
Pete Marshall: Violin
Alex Balch: Pedal Steel.
Sean Kelly: Engineering on the drums (would've been thoroughly fucked without him).
Rebecca Pont: Engineering.
Jo Rose: Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Piano, Vocals.

Peace out, bitches.